Philips Ambilight 58PUS7805/12 58-Inch LED TV (4K UHD, P5 Perfect Picture Engine, Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, HDR 10+, Alexa Built-In, Freeview Play, Saphi Smart TV) Plastic Gun Metal (2020/2021 Model)

Philips Ambilight 58PUS7805/12 58-Inch LED TV (4K UHD, P5 Perfect Picture Engine, Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, HDR 10+, Alexa Built-In, Freeview Play, Saphi Smart TV) Plastic Gun Metal (2020/2021 Model) Customer Reviews

Product rating

4.7

    About this item

  • The 3-sided Ambilight of this 4K TV extends the screen onto the wall with dynamic colors making the viewing experience more immersive. This means less eyestrain when watching TV.
  • The Philips TV has Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos. Watch movies and series just like in the cinema. Enjoy crystal-clear pictures and stunningly real sound.
  • Thanks to the P5 Perfect Picture Engine and HDR 10+, the 58-inch TV delivers breathtaking contrast and smooth motions. Details have more depth. Colours are vivid, while skin tones look natural.
  • Equipped with Android and Google Assistant, the Philips Ambilight TV delivers everything you need to explore the world of digital entertainment. The Alexa integration allows voice controlled access.
  • Included in delivery: Philips 58PUS7805/12 58-inch LED television (2020/2021 model); remote control, batteries, power cord, quick start guide, legal and safety brochure, table top stand

Philips Ambilight 58PUS7805/12 Reviews

Stopped working in 8 months
14 September 2022

Unfortunately this tv was a defective Philips 65 tv I played a round with settings but a green line kept on comeing down the middle of the screen Evan tried factory rest no joy at all with the green line at all so I contacted
Theseller and they wear more than happy too help with the return of this tv for me I asked for a refund not a problem with that one so it’s been passed back too Amazon for a full refund as yet I have no refund and still awaiting for this I will up date more soon thank you UPDATE: refund policies are fast easy thank you Amazon for the refund

P.A. LIttle
Cheap and Cheerful
31 August 2022

Since day one I had nothing but issues. First with amazon after they delivered my a 50 inch rather than the 70. That took about 3 weeks to sort out. I didn't use the TV for the first 4 months as I had bought a house and was waiting till I moved in to us it. It's been in use about a year now and it's always been slow, the remote has been dodgy and the sound quality was rubbish so I bought a sound bar to help it out. I do love the ambilight feature but that's about it. Wouldn't buy another Phillips TV just down to this one. If you want something to last this isn't it and I will soon be replacing this as there is no way I'll get any life out of this thing.

Johnny
New tech
27 May 2022

Okay, this isn't an expensive telly, in fact its quite cheap as your getting a lot of telly!
It is my first 4K telly, I don't watch a lot of TV and it was bought really only as a monitor for my PlayStation 4 Pro and my XBox series X.
I love the Ambilight feature, it works great. The TV itself has a good selection of all the top apps you'd expect to find on a smart TV.
Options are easy to navigate
All in for the money I believe you'd have a hard time beating it.
However, on day one within a few minutes of turning it on I found a flaw thats seriously annoyed me almost everytime I use it, a dead pixel slap bang in the centre of the screen. Not good at all.
Overall I suppose I'll just have to put up with it.
That flaw aside im pretty impressed.

Johnny
Terrible software let's this down
31 December 2021

Excellent picture quality and pretty good sound, don't know what Philips were thinking about the operating system though, its terrible, has crashed a few times (there are quite a few firmware updates though)
Personally, buy this and use as a display only, connect an Nvidia Shield and you have a great combo.
Does lack Disney channel though in the apps.

Jason Jervis
Great TV, but sometimes laggy with TV apps
23 November 2021

Absolutely love this TV. Only downside is if you are trying to use Netflix, YouTube ,Amazon prime, basically apps on the Tv it lags now and then and the controls will stop working if you are trying to fast forward or rewind for awhile in a movie or anything that's long. So now I've just stopped using the apps on TV and just using my Xbox to watch everything on again. But other than that it looks and sounds great! Would definitely recommend

Dan H
Excellent picture quality, the OS sucks though
23 September 2021

Where to begin. I have a brand new Panasonic, which I know to be inferior to this TV. It took about 10 minutes to set up.Setting up the Ambilight was ponderous but managed it with Alexa paired.
An enjoyable evening ensued.

Fast forward to this morning .I got a message saying new remote software was available. Trying to download this I was told my (brand new batteries were low on charge.Different (new) batteries got the same response.

Googling came up with the fix to unplugremote and TV for 3 mins.I did, and the result was a dead remote - nothing - stuck on one programme.Phoned Amazon and after some discussion, she rang Philips.We waited 25 mins but there was no response.She asked if I could give here details to replace remote.I said there was little I could say.She then offered a complete refund for TV.

Having gone thru nightmare of returning a HISENSE TV which arrive with large cracks, I could not go thru all that again.While we were on the phone, I turned the tv off by the button underneath. and the remote began to work. At first only on and off only worked, but persistence resulted in restoration of everything except remote pairing.I shall have to manage without Alexa and hang on to the TV unless some other fault arises.The Amazon agent was really helpful.I declined the refund.

I would not recommend this to anyone.
Update: Even worse!Started day with remote playing up.Changing channels far from smooth..Pressing button sometimes produced no change, changing channels produce zeros all the time befor changing..Then sound disappeared from HDMI channels, and finally an error message appeared on a black scree, telling me HDMI need .. can't really remember what this message said - something about length of cable.Anyway, black screen would not go away every time I switched on so TV is going back.
PS Forgot.In settings the is a choie to test wi-fi settings, remote and many more.When I tested remote, the page was blank and I was told the remote needed replacing. Didn't offer to replace it or say how to get it.Not available on web.Back to my 10 year old reliable Samsung.4 month old Panasonic in other room great.

Craigie
Exceptional TV viewing experience, but sluggish response
7 September 2021

We have this setup in the corner of our living room, so when the Ambilight comes on it really turns the TV into a show piece and the light effect still works very well.It's better than it looks in the pictures, and worth buying this TV for.

Picture quality is very good, its not that far off my significantly costlier QLED. Sound is good for a TV unit, can always add a soundbar to improve but I haven't needed to.

This TV doesn't have Disney or Funimation available, but it does have Netflix and Amazon.That's what I have an xbox for, or could always get a firestick.

My only real complaint is that if left on for a while, the TV becomes real sluggish and unresponsive to the remote buttons. You'll hit volume up, see the red light flicker, and wait about 10 seconds for the volume to actually change. Now and again, it never even does, just gives up.This is easily solved by simply turning it on and off again at the wall, so not too much of a pain, but may irritate some who perhaps can't reach the sockets or such.

All in all, price dependent of course (I paid £380), I can easily recommend this TV.

P.Bellamy
Ambilight is fantastic, but the TV is disappointing
6 September 2021

I thought that I’d give the Ambilight a go, and I have to say - it’s fantastic. Not a gimmick, you’ll be used to it after a few days and watching other TVs without it feels odd! The image quality is half decent for UHD videos and I’m pleasantly surprised with the sound quality.

However there are some real issues with this TV if you’re coming from a solid brand like a Samsung or Sony. The remote is not laid out in a friendly way (disorganised and the selection wheel/volume controls are not prominent so you never know what you’re pressing in the dark). It’s also extremely slow to respond to inputs - literally about 2 seconds from pressing the remote to the TV responding, which can be frustrating when browsing streaming services’ catalogues.

Another major issue is app availability. You’ll be stuck with a bunch of third party apps you can’t install, and there’ll be no Apple TV+ or Disney+, you’ll be stuck with the basics (Netflix and Prime Video). Channel navigation can be a bit clunky for live TV, too.

All in all I’m pleased with it for the Ambilight, it’s made a great bedroom TV; but I wouldn’t recommend as a primary television due to its un-user friendliness in a number of departments.

Dave
Love the reactive ambient LED lights
4 September 2021

You don't realise how big a 70" screen is until you have one, then my previous 50" starts to feel like a portable TV.
For the price probably the best on the 70" range.
Found the settings that control the picture brightness easy to find and use plus all the preset settings for movies, natural, game modes etc.Renders films and games very well even does a half decent job with the sound when you don't have a sound bar to hook up to.

The reactive ambient lights on the back of the TV are a great feature,adds another dimension to the things you watch, I've yet to pair it up to Philips Smart lights to get the whole dynamic living room atmosphere changing to the film scenes, but when I do, its going to be amazing.
One thing that could be improved, on some scenes I see a fractional jitter as the scene is changing - hard to explain and give the right impression but could do with being more smooth - something I'm accepting along with other positives for the price instead of paying thousands for way overpriced OLED versions.

Tamarine Dighton
One of the worst experiences of my life plus update.It gets worse. Down to 1 star.
3 September 2021

This is a great TV. Picture quality is superb, sound is probably the best I've heard from a TV in years. It has some great built in speakers.
The downside - Not compatible with Disney + or Spotify. The apps in the "app gallery" are very very limited.
The feet are absolutely awful, cheap looking and very very ugly.

Jonathan

Similar items you might like

Sharp LC-24DHF4011K 24 Inch HD Ready LCD TV with Freeview HD, Built-In DVD Player, 2 x HDMI, Scart, USB Record and Media Player 120 review

Sharp LC-24DHF4011K 24 Inch HD Ready LCD TV with Freeview HD, Built-In DVD Player, 2 x HDMI, Scart, USB Record and Media Player

SHARP 24" LED smart television: This HD ready TV features a slim, lightweight and space-saving design. With built in DVD player & remote control Plenty of ports: Connect to an array of devices using the 2 x HDMI ports, one USB port, and one SCART socket plus side loading DVD player and WiFi functionality. In classic black Catch up and recording function: A compact 24 inch TV with DTS TruSurround, Freeview HD and PVR recording using the USB Record function – lets you pause and rewind live TV High definition: The ACE PRO Engine image optimisation technology analyses & enhances incoming signals for accurate colour reproduction, improved sharpness & reduced noise for a crisp, natural picture A slim, stylish TV with a multitude of features: Ideal for wall mounting and also comes with a fixed stand. Perfect for use in the kitchen, lounge, play room or bedroom

Philips Hue White Ambiance LED Candle Smart Light Bulb Twin Pack [E14 Small Edison Screw] with Bluetooth, works with Alexa, Google Assistant and Apple HomeKit 124 review

Philips Hue White Ambiance LED Candle Smart Light Bulb Twin Pack [E14 Small Edison Screw] with Bluetooth, works with Alexa, Google Assistant and Apple HomeKit

Choose from 50,000 shades of white light to light your home, wirelessly control with your smartphone or tablet; choose an ideal light setting for any mood or activity such as reading or relaxing, concentrating or energising Requiring the Hue Bridge (sold separately) for the full Hue experience, this E14 LED smart light is designed to fit candelabra lamps in nightlights, chandeliers and multiple flush and semi-flush ceiling lights Install the LED light as you would install an ordinary bulb, pairing it with the Hue Bridge, which allows you to control smart-bulb-equipped lights via the Philips Hue app Easily expand your lighting system with accessories (sold separately), such as a Hue Dimmer Switch, Hue Tap or Hue Motion Sensor Philips Hue system is compatible with multiple home automation systems like - Amazon Echo, Google Home, Apple HomeKit, Nest, Samsung SmartThings, Yale, Razer, IFTTT and Logitech

Philips Hue Econic White and Colour Ambiance LED Smart Garden Wall Light [Square Porch Light], Works with Alexa, Google Assistant and Apple Homekit 19 review

Philips Hue Econic White and Colour Ambiance LED Smart Garden Wall Light [Square Porch Light], Works with Alexa, Google Assistant and Apple Homekit

What's required? - A 'Philips Hue Bridge' (sold separately) is required for smart control. Simply connect your Bridge, install your new Philips Hue lights and take advantage of smart outdoor lighting via the 'Philips Hue' app Highlight your outdoors with the Philips Hue Econic wall light [Square Porch Light]. This kit includes all cables to start lighting your outdoors Style with colour - Choose from 16 million colours including warm to cool white light to create the perfect ambiance for relaxing or entertaining outdoors. Discover the perfect smart lighting for parties, BBQs and more! Feel secure with smart control - Have your lights turn on automatically when you arrive in the dark, or mimic your presence with lights switching on/off randomly while you're away from home! Control lights with your voice - Works with Alexa, Google assistant and Apple homekit devices for hands-free voice control. Control your smart outdoor lights with simple voice commands!

HISENSE 50A7100FTUK 50-inch 4K UHD HDR Smart TV with Freeview play, and Alexa Built-in (2020 series), Black 89 review

HISENSE 50A7100FTUK 50-inch 4K UHD HDR Smart TV with Freeview play, and Alexa Built-in (2020 series), Black

4K Resolution - With 4x more pixels than traditional Full HD, Hisense’s 4K Ultra HD resolution is the benchmark for stunningly realistic picture quality and pin-sharp clarity. DTS Studio Sound - An immersive sound experience. Volume Levelling cleverly smooths transitions between inputs and when changing channels. HDR Technology - HDR dramatically enhances detail by maximising contrast and colour accuracy for more true-to-life colours and amazing levels of clarity. The detail in the darkest areas of a picture aren't lost. VIDAA U Smart TV - access Netflix, Prime Video, YouTube, Freeview Play and Rakuten with direct access keys on remote. Freeview Play - Catch up on the last 7 days via BBC iPlayer, ITV Hub, All 4, Demand 5 and UKTV Play.

Philips 32PFS6805/12 32-Inch TV (Full HD LED TV, Pixel Plus HD, HDR 10, Smart TV, Full-Range Speakers, Freeview Play, 3 x HDMI, 2 x USB, Ideal for Gaming) - Glossy Black (2020/2021 Model) 10 review

Philips 32PFS6805/12 32-Inch TV (Full HD LED TV, Pixel Plus HD, HDR 10, Smart TV, Full-Range Speakers, Freeview Play, 3 x HDMI, 2 x USB, Ideal for Gaming) - Glossy Black (2020/2021 Model)

Experience an optimized picture quality with sharp images and vivid colors. This 32 inch Full HD TV with LED, Pixel Plus HD and HDR 10 creates beautiful details and deep contrast. With this 32 inch smart TV you decide what to watch and when to watch it. Enjoy your favorite apps like Netflix and easily navigate through the clear icon-based menu of the operating system Saphi. The 32" TV is especially great for gaming thanks to a less than 20 ms input lag via HDMI. Better refresh rates and enhanced visibility in dark scenes allow you to fully immerse yourself in the game. Full-range speakers and the 5 band equalizer of this 32 inch LED TV guarantee a clear audio and crisp dialogue. Wi-Fi, 3xHDMI and 2xUSB ensure a variety of connectivity. Included in delivery: Philips 32PFS6805/12 TV 32 inch (80 cm), Remote Control, 2 x AAA Batteries, Power cord, Quick start guide, Legal and safety brochure, Table top stand

LG 50UP75006LF 50 inch 4K UHD HDR Smart LED TV (2021 Model) with Freeview Play, Prime Video, Netflix, Disney+, Google Assistant and Alexa compatible 52 review

LG 50UP75006LF 50 inch 4K UHD HDR Smart LED TV (2021 Model) with Freeview Play, Prime Video, Netflix, Disney+, Google Assistant and Alexa compatible

Dazzling 4K Ultra HD viewing with vibrant picture quality Absorbing and atmospheric sound quality with AI Sound webOS smart platform with Freeview Play, Netflix, Disney+ and more Instant movie theatre with FILMMAKER mode and HDR Google Assistant and Alexa compatible Included components: Standard Remote Power source type: Corded Electric Surround sound channel configuration: 2.0 ch