Panasonic TX-58GX800B 58 inch LED 4K Ultra HD HDR Smart TV with Dolby Vision & Dolby Atmos Sound and Freeview Play (2019), Alexa compliant

Panasonic TX-58GX800B 58 inch LED 4K Ultra HD HDR Smart TV with Dolby Vision & Dolby Atmos Sound and Freeview Play (2019), Alexa compliant Customer Reviews

Product rating

3.0

    About this item

  • 4K HDR – 4x the resolution of HD, with wider colour palette & contrast.
  • HCX Processor – OLED processing know-how for fantastic picture performance.
  • Multi HDR Support (HDR10+ & Dolby Vision) – ALL HDR formats are supported, so get the best form UHD Blu-ray & 4K video streaming.
  • 4K HDR Video Streaming – from Netflix & Prime Video
  • Works with Google Assistant/ Alexa – change channel, adjust volume etc. with a compatible smart speaker
  • Includes 1 year UK manufacturer warranty from date of purchase

Panasonic TX-58GX800B 58 Reviews

Another Excellent Television from Panasonic
21 October 2020

We have had many Panasonic televisions over the years and this one met all expectations. Great picture (blacks are really very black), easy to tune, all offered apps seem to work (but some services you have to pay for - Netflix for example) and several other useful features such as PVR control which works well. One slightly annoying "feature" is that the set only has one tuner so during recording you cannot watch a different channel to the one actually being recorded. Not an issue for us as we have other recording devices but mention it here in case this is a critical requirement for any purchaser. Our previous (and other) Panasonic TVs all have multiple tuners hence this issue does not arise. The television was packed very well and in our opinion looks really good using the supplied stand. Slightly heavy on price but the performance is worth paying for.

Ray
It’s only flaw
11 September 2020

It replaced a LG smart 32 inch set. We wanted something larger that would not overpower the room. 40 inch was perfect in our 14 feet by 12 foot room. The sound is excellent, on music it Is obviously not as good as our separates sound system but does very well. The range of source material, ie Dolby etc covers all bases. Sitting in front the picture is outstanding and so natural though you can make it over saturated if you change the settings.At an angle of 30 degrees it is still very acceptable but after that the colours start to fade . So check where you normally sit and work out your angles and how you will position the set. If it passes thattest then put it definitely on your short list.

Charles M
For the current price this is a fantastic TV
31 August 2020

The comments about the viewing angle are true.It's a very narrow range but not an issue of me - being a bit of an audiophile I sit directly centre anyway.I saw a comment which said that you can't scroll by page in the Freeview guide.You can - to do so hold down the up/down rocker switch style button (opposite the volume button).I've had no issues with connectivity / watching on-line content and am able to view 4k/HD streamed content.The screen is very reflective and any lights I have on reflect in the screen/picture.But if you are prepared to put up with the reflections/switching lights off and the narrow viewing angle you are in for a treat.Given the right content, and by that I mean HD, it is amazing.Watched opening scenes of John Wick 3 and its just incredible.Also worth viewing some of the 4K content available on Yotube.Terrestrial TV is ok but it really does need that HD content to shine at it's best.My only grip so far, after a week, is that the user manual doesn't cover any of the settings and there are loads of them.There is so much scope for adjusting the colour/picture.I'm yet to work out what it all means/affects.That said I am already able to get a decent picture on SD content.With HD content I've found little adjustment is required and the stock picture options work well. Finally, it was easy to connect my iphone via bluetooth to play music.

Peter P
An absolute bargain of a TV.
12 August 2020

This works even better than expected. The picture quality is crystal and the sound isn’t bad either. There are plenty of options to get your perfect picture. I watched Dark on Netflix and the detail when they’re in the cave is very clear. You can make out the shadows and there’s none of that ghosting you sometimes get when a flashlight is switched on in the darkness.
It’s simple to operate, the menu and navigation are easy to understand and allows you to play around with a host of settings as well as giving you the option of saving those settings. Really good when you’re watching different programmes, like sport, horror films, documentaries or Apple TV’s #creen saver.
I bought this to replace the Hisense, and while the Hisense had sound problems, the picture is average compared to the Panasonic. They say you get what you pay for but in this case the Panasonic is an absolute bargain.

Tink-GB
Great Picture, let down by App support
9 August 2020

Picture is very good for an LED.The blacks are the best I have seen on a LED TV.I have an OLED.

PLEX app doesn't play DCA (DTS 5.1) or AC3 (Dolby 5.1) - Just plays the video muted, doesn't look like there is any sign of it being updated.Youtube app works but if you want to use a handle instead of the real name you registered your account with it isn't available to switch to, so all your subs and viewing history is only available if you cast it from your phone.

TV stand was more of job than I thought it would of been but seems very stable.

Oh and if you weren't aware, Panasonic TV's don't have a Now TV app or Disney +

Quite a premium looking TV - good value for money and amazing picture quality for an LED but app support is pretty bad.

PH
Excellent
17 June 2020

Wanted the smallest 4K TV possible. and this 40" seems to be it. A fair bit more expensive than other 43" that are rated of a similar standard, but I cannot comment or compare against them. However, I recently bought a Sony KD65XF9005BU and I far prefer this Panny. It may not have as many features, but I find it so much easier to navigate around, and the picture quality to me is better - especially when watching SD Freeview. The one thing it misses, that the Sony Android TV has, is voice control. But TBH I really am not that fussed and do not miss it. It can be controlled by voice over an app on my phone, but that's too much hassle.

Sound quality is not great, but I run it through a cinema system, so its not an issue.

The biggest criticism seems to be that it isn't overly bright. I think that I can understand this, but with things turned up, it suits my needs perfectly.

Would I recommend? Absolutely, without hesitation.

Mark S
Rated Best LCD 4k TV in 2019 for its features
6 May 2020

Panasonic makers of this 50gx800 has included everything in this budget 50inch TV, HLG10 HDR, Dolby Atmos & Alexa support incl. Dolby Vision..future proofing it well into the 2020s...a perfect match for the penny UB820 4k bluesy player...okay so only 3 HDMIs and two powered USBs but at this price hard to beat even so.
This TV and I suspect other equivalent makes now tilt their screens back by an inch to avoid being tipped over by little hands...but it doesnt notice after while...this is by design as you could see in the specs.Hard to find now and mine was the last in stock too so I'm pleased I snapped it up...Only wish was that the stand was a wide variant asnin 2018 in metal...so I could fit a soundbar along the front, but the centre stand does fit on top of the sound box.. designed to withstand the TV on it perfectly...
Read the reviews...whilst there are better TVs with compromises, this TV has the lot and tops the chart for 2019.

David Noble
So easy to install, quality picture
1 February 2020

Bought this tv as a direct replacement for our current 58". We have a Freesat system and it was switching on our old tv at all hours of the day so we had to put tv on AV channel before switching off or it would just turn on again. This TV does not do that! This TV is brilliant. Can be turned on or off by turning on Freesat system or asking Alexa. Its brilliant with Alexa, I have set up a routine that switches on my hallway lights and turns off living room lights and TV when I say, " Alexa, its bedtime". HD picture is really good, colours very bright and clear. Blacks are indeed black and not washed out like on some cheap TV's. Cant really say anything about sound as I have a soundbar so dont use TV's speakers. Very happy with this product.

Dva
Cost to much
5 January 2020

This is a good television from Panasonic and an upgrade from my faulty one. I do think it is overpriced though. I only buy Panasonic, as I like the brand and usually are reliable, but this TV although very good could be better in this price range. The speakers are rubbish in my opinion, and the sound set up is a real faffing about to get what you want from the speakers. I eventually turned all the sound settings to off to get the best clarity with everyday TV watching. Great picture and nice casing and trim. Value for money 3.5 out of 5. I hope it lasts longer than the last one did.

Niknik
Brilliant TV, lives up to its promise of Cinematic Image Quality
24 November 2019

this 40 TV replaces an old 37 inch led (thick bezel), and I couldn't fit anything wider.At least Panasonic caters to the market that wants a UHD TV and cant fit anything too big.Its a great product and provides a proper cinematic experience, as far as possible with a TV this size.Its quite different from the old set (which was about the same price 6 years ago) and takes some getting used to.Like I say sometimes you feel like you are at the cinema.

The user interface is fast and slick and the connection to the internet was very quick.The sound is very good within the usual limitations of thin screen TVs The only downside is that the matching sound bar with Dolby Atmos is too wide to fit underneath so will have to search for something smaller and of lesser spec.Not noticed any real problem with the viewing angle , not anything thats different from other TVs

Its a pretty neat looking product, and when in use its a slick systemWhen not in use the TV is pretty "black" with a thin black plastic bezel. A different colour would have been nicer.Had to offset it with a clear glass and chrome TV stand.

The remote is OK, fast and responsive. Not sure why a Netflix button was added , it doesnt add anything

B

Similar items you might like

Philips Ambilight 70PUS7805/12 70-Inch LED TV (4K UHD, P5 Perfect Picture Engine, Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, HDR 10+, Alexa Built-In, Freeview Play, Saphi Smart TV) Plastic Gun Metal (2020/2021 Model) 118 review

Philips Ambilight 70PUS7805/12 70-Inch LED TV (4K UHD, P5 Perfect Picture Engine, Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, HDR 10+, Alexa Built-In, Freeview Play, Saphi Smart TV) Plastic Gun Metal (2020/2021 Model)

With the 4K TV and 3-sided Ambilight extending the screen onto the wall with dynamic colors, you will get a more immersive viewing experience. The result is less eye fatigue and a cozy atmosphere. Thanks to Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos, movies will have the look and feel of being in the cinema. With this Philips TV, a sharp picture and outstanding sound meet high contrast and vivid colors. The P5 Perfect Picture Engine and HDR 10+ deliver a superb picture quality. With this 70-inch TV, you enjoy natural motion, vivid details, and crisp contrast. Saphi and the Philips Ambilight TV are the gateway to digital entertainment. Stream whatever you want and ask Alexa to play music, read the news, or simply to navigate through the menu. Included in delivery: Philips 70PUS7805/12 70-inch LED television (2020/2021 model); remote control, batteries, power cord, quick start guide, legal and safety brochure, table top stand

Philips Hue Resonate White and Colour Ambiance LED Smart Outdoor Wall Light, Black, Compatible with Alexa, Google Assistant and Apple HomeKit 13 review

Philips Hue Resonate White and Colour Ambiance LED Smart Outdoor Wall Light, Black, Compatible with Alexa, Google Assistant and Apple HomeKit

What's Required? - A 'Philips Hue Bridge' (sold separately) is required for smart control. Simply connect your Bridge, install your new Philips Hue lights and take advantage of smart outdoor lighting via the 'Philips Hue' app. Direct Sharp Angled Light - The Hue Resonate smart wall light creates a beautiful triangle of LED light both above and below the light fixture to illuminate and decorate your porch or patio. Style with Colour - Choose from 16 million colours including warm to cool white light to create the perfect ambiance for relaxing or entertaining outdoors. Discover the perfect smart lighting for parties, BBQs and more Feel Secure with Home & Away Control - Have your lights turn on automatically when you arrive in the dark, or mimic your presence with lights switching on/off randomly while you're away from home Control Lights With Your Voice - Works with Alexa, Google Assistant and Apple HomeKit devices for hands-free voice control. Control your smart outdoor lights with simple voice commands

Sony XR-65A95K – BRAVIA XR™ - MASTER Series - OLED – 4K Ultra HD – High Dynamic Range (HDR) – Smart TV (Google TV) – Black (2022 model) 10 review

Sony XR-65A95K – BRAVIA XR™ - MASTER Series - OLED – 4K Ultra HD – High Dynamic Range (HDR) – Smart TV (Google TV) – Black (2022 model)

Our new OLED(QD-OLED) panel delivers our brightest, widest OLED colours yet! With Cognitive Processor XR, BRAVIA TVs analyse the content and recreate it the same way humans see and hear in the real world. The result is your favourite content recreated in a way that’s so real you can feel it. The screen is the speaker. Acoustic Surface Audio+ matches exactly what's on screen. Designed to work in two different styles, choose the Front One Slate position for the most immersive experience possible or the Back position to set the TV close to the wall for true room harmonisation. Great for gamers, BRAVIA XR TVs deliver ultra-responsive and smooth gameplay with Auto Low Latency Mode in HDMI 2.1 and a Variable Refresh Rate (VRR). Choose from hundreds of films delivered straight to your living room with our exclusive BRAVIA CORE streaming service. Browse 700,000+ movies and TV episodes from across your streaming services on this Google TV – you can even go hands-free with the built-in Voice Search!

Sony BRAVIA KE65A8/P - 65-inch - OLED - 4K Ultra HD (UHD) - High Dynamic Range (HDR) - Smart TV (Android TV) - Dolby Atmos - Built-in Google Assistant - Works with Alexa (Black, 2021 model) 10 review

Sony BRAVIA KE65A8/P - 65-inch - OLED - 4K Ultra HD (UHD) - High Dynamic Range (HDR) - Smart TV (Android TV) - Dolby Atmos - Built-in Google Assistant - Works with Alexa (Black, 2021 model)

BRAVIA OLED, for truly exceptional black, shadow and colour: The A8/P gives you extremely bright highlights while preserving perfect black levels, side by side, resulting in incredible contrast using OLED Technology so everything you what will look stunningly realistic. Cleaner, crisper, more lifelike pictures with X1 Ultimate : X1 Ultimate is the power behind the A8/P's realistic 4K HDR picture. It enhances the contrast and clarity of what you watch and with Pixel Contrast Booster so you'll get more vibrant lifelike colours. Acoustic Surface Audio delivers immersive sound: With Acoustic Surface AudioTM on the A8/P Sony TV, the screen is the speaker so sound comes from where the action is on screen, and with twin subwoofers for bass, you'll get an immersive sound experience. Get smarter with Android TV and Google Assistant: With easy access to all your favourite content, services and devices, our A8/P Android TV makes life simpler. You can ask your A8/P with Google Assistant to connect and communicate with your other smart devices and search for the latest TV shows and films just using your voice remote! 12 Months Standard Manufacturer Warranty Box Contains: KE65A8P TV, AC Power Cord Batteries Operating Instructions Quick Setup Guide Table Top Stand Voice Remote Control Display size: 65.0 inches; Connectivity technology: Bluetooth; Total hdmi ports: 4

Samsung UE55NU7100 55-Inch 4K Ultra HD Certified HDR Smart TV - Charcoal Black (2018 Model) [Energy Class A] 70 review

Samsung UE55NU7100 55-Inch 4K Ultra HD Certified HDR Smart TV - Charcoal Black (2018 Model) [Energy Class A]

Ultra HD certified for true 4K colour and clarity Hidden cables for a clutter free and stylish cable management solution Discover easy access to all your content and connected devices from one place through Samsung's intuitive 2018 Smart Hub. Auto Motion Plus offers such impressive clarity in action scenes and sport that you’ll feel as if you’re watching from the stands. Impressive brightness, shadow detail and authentic colour through the combination of Dynamic Crystal Colour and HDR 10+. Includes 1 year UK manufacturer warranty from date of purchase

LG OLED65B16LA 65 inch 4K UHD HDR Smart OLED TV (2021 Model) with ?7 Gen4 AI processor, 4K SELF-LIT OLED, Dolby Vision IQ and Dolby Atmos, built-in Google Assistant and Alexa 10 review

LG OLED65B16LA 65 inch 4K UHD HDR Smart OLED TV (2021 Model) with ?7 Gen4 AI processor, 4K SELF-LIT OLED, Dolby Vision IQ and Dolby Atmos, built-in Google Assistant and Alexa

LG 4K SELF-LIT OLED for infinite contrast & 100 percent colour fidelity α7 Gen4 AI processor 4K / 120 Hz - outstanding picture & sound Intense Cinema & Sport with Dolby Vision IQ and Dolby Atmos Responsive Gaming with HDMI 2.1, VRR, HFR, Game Optimiser Low blue light & flicker free for less eye fatigue and safer viewing Power source type: Corded Electric Surround sound channel configuration: 2.2 ch