Nextbase 612GW - Full 4K Ultra HD Resolution DVR In-Car Dash Camera - 150° Viewing Angle – WiFi and GPS – HDR and WDR Recordings - Anti-Glare Polarising Filter - Black

Nextbase 612GW - Full 4K Ultra HD Resolution DVR In-Car Dash Camera - 150° Viewing Angle – WiFi and GPS – HDR and WDR Recordings - Anti-Glare Polarising Filter - Black Customer Reviews

Product rating

3.1

    About this item

Nextbase 612GW - Reviews

Broke as soon as the warranty ended, just like a lot of other people here experienced...
9 August 2022

This dashcam worked fine at first, but as many others here have mentioned, started having serious problems as soon as the warranty period ended. Absolutely do not recommend.

DPB
Waste of money, keeps failing
5 September 2021

Excellent Image but very annoyingly intermittently fails to automatically power up on journey start... Can't exactly identify if its under certain circumstances but on that basis its a MAJOR flaw... It'll be sods law that the one time (God forbid) I ever do have an accident that the damn thing will have failed to power up and it'll have happened when I didn't notice.... for that reason I'd caution anyone to purchase one of these. Its my first time experience of a dash-cam (and I thought I was buying top of the range)… disappointing really. Be warned.

David Drane
Very poor overall. Trust in Nextbase is gone
20 February 2021

I had an older Nextbase camera but wanted a bit better resolution so got this one instead. The resolution is OK and picture quality is good too, but the main issue was with with the files ending up corrupted and the camera asking for a format of the SDCard. I thought maybe I got a dodgy SD Card even though it was capable of 4k/60fps, and splurged on a more expensive one, just to have the same issues crop up. A few months in, in addition to the card errors it started to shut down - and finally, a couple of days ago it has stopped working completely. I'm not sure I'm going to choose Nextbase for my next camera, I'm disappointed they could produce such a poor bit of hardware that points to how bad the production testing must be on the production line. Expensive is not always better, as this product shows.

MR MARK BECKETT
Good while it lasts...but it doesn't last long
11 November 2020

612GW: This camera has a good 4K image sensor, is pretty small, and can be hard wired into the car. It supports a SD card upto 128GB, but seems to be very sensitive about which brand it will work with as saving video at 4K requires a high speed card. It has a wifi function and app, but I have never used it...it's more of a gimmick to me.

The downside, is exactly a year after I bought it (8000 miles later), it failed. Just a few days outside of warranty. It was the battery which had deteriorated....despite my device being hard wired into the car. The device had to be sent back for repair as the battery is built into the middle of the device and can't be changed by the consumer. Instead of replacing, they sent me a new device. Well, guess what, 18 months later (another 8000 miles), it's failed again, with exactly the same problem. I've been in touch with customer support and tried all the steps to get it back to life, but nothing. It has the exact same symptoms as the first time round. They want me to send it in at a cost of £32 +p&p for repair.

My issue with Nextbase is that they consider the battery a consumable, but it has a poor shelf life, and can't be replaced by the consumer. The cost of repair is 15% of what I paid for the device when new, which they expect me to keep paying every year or so to keep the device alive. Reading forums, there are many other users who face the same issue, and get a similar response from Nextbase.

Nextbase are so far refusing to accept this is a manufacturing flaw, and think a battery life of 1 year is normal (by comparison, my iPhone battery is 4+ years old, and not showing any signs of deterioration yet...and I bet you it's been through a lot more charge cycles).

Nextbase's customer support is questionable. Many different people work in that team, and respond to parts of your queries, and ignore the rest. The different people do not read the entire trail before responding, and so ask for repeat information when it had already been provided up front, or contradict themselves (one person said I could replace the battery myself, then when I asked for instructions, the next person said I couldn't).

My advice is DO NOT buy a Nextbase product, because they are not designed well, and their customer service is poor. Many people are complaining on forums about different internal components failing, and Nextbase not treating them well. Choose a different brand. Through this experience, Nextbase have done nothing to encourage me to stick with their products, or write a more positive review.

Palatinate Peter
Crashes when you need it most
31 July 2020

I initially returned this camera for a brand-new replacement as it kept crashing.The second one was just as bad, but once I allowed the SD card to be fully written to, it started to record well (at least I thought it did). Unfortunately, the camera will still crash and fail to record (the most basic requirement of these cameras).It seems to happen every few days for a single journey and this is with the latest firmware.It is difficult to spot without checking the camera every time you get in the car.On two occasions now when I have needed footage none has existed.Not what you expect from a £200 top-of-range camera.I gather they are purchasing OEM products from China and then rebadging as Nextbase.They have to deal with any problems they have as best as they can, but I wouldn't waste your money on Nextbase.Just buy a cheap non-branded one and you will get the same poor experience.I would say this camera is totally unfit for purpose

Gigi
Great quality video but unreliable and poor manual
19 May 2020

The video quality on this camera is very good, with clear sharp images in daylight. Night time video is also better than most dash cams, but obviously not up to daylight quality. Installation was relatively simple and uploads to my desktop Mac are straightforward. However, reliability has not been so good. I had a number of problems with SD cards corrupting files and recordings failing, even though I made sure to buy the specification of card specified in the manual. After a few communications with Nextbase support it transpired that the SD card specified in the manual was not up to the job. A high endurance card is required to cope with frequent overwriting of files, but nowhere is this mentioned in any documentation.
The second problem is more severe. The battery has failed and after fully charging it for two hours it only lasts about a minute. My camera is hard wired into the car, so you would think this is not an issue, but even with power from the car the camera will not operate without a working battery. My camera is out of the warranty period and their repair centre is closed because of the COVID lockdown, so I can't get it repaired. I now have a useless, expensive piece of kit.
I bought this camera after a minor accident where the other party left the scene, so I wanted to have a record for future events. Since then there have been two occasions (near misses or idiotic behaviour from other drivers) when video footage would have been useful, but on both occasions my camera was not working.
In summary, this is a very good camera when it works and I give it five stars for its features, but it has been so unreliable that I can only give it two overall. My advice is to look at other makes. I am debating whether or not to spend money on repairing this one.

Panagiotis Drakoulakos
Good quality dash cam
28 April 2020

Excellent product, which is very easy to install. Very good picture quality. However, because my journeys tend to be very short local trips, the parking mode caused problems. The battery would drain too frequently and the camera would freeze requiring use of the reset button. Switching off the parking mode solved the problem.

Panagiotis Drakoulakos
Good camera
22 January 2020

Good all round camera but requires the larger micro SD card (not supplied) or you are forever re formatting the small card. Sucker can become detached from screen in hot weather
A hard wire kit would benefit this camera system since the 12v outlet plug can work itself loose

Mr. P. J. E. Dawes
Unrelyable with poor support
14 December 2019

I bought an Amazon second hand Nexbase 612 unfortunately i got a bad one! this should never have been sold as it was clearly defective.It did not hold a charge, meaning that the parking setting would not work and worse still it kept going blank.I have wasted my time on this product.The software supplied to view on my PC was jumpy in Video playback.The videos i managed to record over a couple of days, viewed through windows media player, were good.Disappointing first bad experience with Amazon.2/10

HCM
I got a bad product
9 December 2019

I bought this to replace an older Nextbase 402G that worked fine but didnt have a quick release mount.The 612GW quick release mount did work as intended.However, the build quality of the mount and the heavier camera means that the mount and unit isn't rigid like the older models but is susceptible to vibration and allows sufficient pendulum movement to make the video feedback wobbly.After checking forums, It turns out this is a known fault with the quick release mount and Nextbase themselves are aware of it when used with diesel cars.Suggestions to fix included using bluetack on the ball to reduce movement and not to use the suction mount.These did marginally improve things but not enough and the video playback was significantly wobbly.If you have a petrol car that is smooth, then you should be fine.If you have a diesel car then the engine at idle or low revs resonates with the mount and creates wobble.If you have a utility truck, like a Land Rover Defender, then forget it.Stick with a dashcam with a more rigid mount.

chromedome21

Similar items you might like

Panasonic LUMIX DC-GH5LEB-K Compact System Mirrorless Camera with 12-60mm LEICA Lens - Black 30 review

Panasonic LUMIX DC-GH5LEB-K Compact System Mirrorless Camera with 12-60mm LEICA Lens - Black

The marriage of an advanced Digital Live MOS sensor with the beautiful new Venus Engine 10 reproduces extraordinary colour detail and natural texture expression. The Three-Dimensional Colour Control with rich colours from dark to bright shades and high-precision Multi Process NR makes your images stand out. It’s difficult to handhold a camera at the best of times but thanks to the 5-axis Dual image Stabiliser 2 Intelligent compensation comes to your aid. The LUMIX GH5 eliminates shakes in both body and lens from wide-angle to tele-end. Faster frame rates mean excellent motion compensation Plus you can slow down footage inside your video editing timeline without losing detail. You also achieve perfect panning control and a suppression of the rolling shutter Effect as seen in lesser frame rates. High-resolution images and perfect focal length can also be achieved as the LUMIX GH5 features Pixel for Pixel, no sensor Cropping recording. There's also no recording duration Limit so you can go beyond 30 minutes in all record settings. The LUMIX GH5 brings game changing internal 4:2:2 10-bit 4K video recording. The power of having film creation capabilities inside the camera sets a new precedent in guerrilla style filmmaking. Dfd (depth from defocus) allows the camera to calculate focal lens movement by comparing depth of field values of two images at incredibly high speed. A motion detector accurately tracks fast moving subjects, and enables smooth 4K photo/video & 6K photo recording. Shoot with unlimited Burst, then choose and extract the exact frames you want to keep. The new 6K photo mode at 30fps allows you to capture the perfect moments at a stunning approx.18-Megapixel high-resolution.

Mini Fridge 15 Liter/21 Cans, Small Drink Fridge Portable for Bedroom or Car(AC/DC), Thermoelectric Refrigerator for Skincare Beauty, Cooler & Warmer with ECO Quiet Mode, Cars, Offices and Bathroom 10 review

Mini Fridge 15 Liter/21 Cans, Small Drink Fridge Portable for Bedroom or Car(AC/DC), Thermoelectric Refrigerator for Skincare Beauty, Cooler & Warmer with ECO Quiet Mode, Cars, Offices and Bathroom

15 L mini refrigerator: 15 liters of capacity, can easily store 21 cans of 330 ml of drinks, built-in convenient handle, easy to carry you on the road! This capacity is suitable for people living alone at home, office workers are also suitable for storing cosmetics And skin care products. Home/Outdoor: Includes two plugs, suitable for standard wall sockets in vehicles and 12V and home voltage. Fully meet your home and outdoor needs. Heating & cooling mode: Just press the switch to set the refrigerator to heating and cooling! The operation is simple and fast. You can live with cold food in the hot summer and warm drinks in the cold winter. Environmental protection engineering: The semiconductor refrigeration chip does not contain Freon, which is environmentally friendly; the silent technology keeps the sound at the lowest level, allowing you to sit back and relax 100% satisfied customer service: We provide lifetime customer service, one-year replacement and repair service. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR Digital Camera (16MP EXR-CMOS Sensor, 30x Manual Optical Zoom) 3 inch Tiltable LCD Screen 10 review

Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR Digital Camera (16MP EXR-CMOS Sensor, 30x Manual Optical Zoom) 3 inch Tiltable LCD Screen

16MP EXR CMOS Sensor 30x Fujinon Manual Optical Zoom 3 Inch Tilting LCD Screen Full HD Movie Raw File Option

AstroAI Mini Fridge 10 Litre, 15 Can Portable Cooler & Warmer, AC+DC Power for Bedroom, Car, Travel; Skincare, Cosmetics, Drinks, Food (White) 87 review

AstroAI Mini Fridge 10 Litre, 15 Can Portable Cooler & Warmer, AC+DC Power for Bedroom, Car, Travel; Skincare, Cosmetics, Drinks, Food (White)

10 LITRE OF CAPACITY: The removable shelf makes small items like cosmetics, food, baby formula, or medications easy to separate. It can accommodate breast milk, skincare products, lipstick, lotion, essences, masks and much more! COMPACT IDEAL SIZE MAKES LIFE EASY: The fridge takes up very little room, fitting right under your nightstand. Enjoy a snack or cold drink without venturing all the way to the kitchen. AC 230V / DC 12V ADAPTERS: Two plugs are included for both standard wall outlets and 12V cigarette lighters in vehicles, making it a great cooler on road trips; Keep your precious snacks and drinks at your office desk, away from hungry coworkers.the fridge is also perfect for keeping drinks cold at your desk in the office. COOL TO WARM: Cool up to 20°C below ambient temperature, or keep warm up to 60℃; Two temperature modes maximizes the versatility of this handy fridge at home or on the road. ECO-FRIENDLY ENGINEERING: The semiconductor refrigeration chip is freon-free and environmentally friendly; 3 Year Warranty Provided by AstroAI - if you have any questions or concerns regarding your mini fridge, don't hesitate to reach out.

ePathChina 7 Inch Double Din Bluetooth Car Stereo Receiver, In Dash HD Touch Screen with Rear View Camera, Car Video Radio MP5 Player Support Mirror Link for Android/USB/AUX/TF 27 review

ePathChina 7 Inch Double Din Bluetooth Car Stereo Receiver, In Dash HD Touch Screen with Rear View Camera, Car Video Radio MP5 Player Support Mirror Link for Android/USB/AUX/TF

★Mirror Link: PLEASE NOTE that this item is Backward Compatible with Android 9.0 and iPhone 8 Plus. It CAN NOT support the phone which operation system is over Andriod 9.0 or the phone is over iPhone 8 Plus. Support Android /IOS Phone Mirror Link. Android two-way/ IOS one-way connection, through phone's original USB line. ★ Multifunction: Compatible with Bluetooth and hands-free calling; Built-in TF memory card, high quality sound and bass, FM Radio, USB, AUX-IN, music player, video player, android mirror link. Power-Off with Auto-memory store function under radio or SD/MMC/USB Mode. Touch it by your nail will be more sensitive, not by finger belly. Many kinds of sound effecte can be selected, DSP audio control. ★ Support Backup camera and steering wheel control functions,coming with a reversing camera which support night vision, help your driving and parking safer. ★ Universal Double Din Car Stereo: 7-color backlight that could be adjusted choose according to your heart; Many kinds languages such as English, Spanish, German, French,Italian,etc. ★ Various Format: 7 inch 2 din HD 1080P car radio MP5 player; Support audio format: MP3 / WMA / WAV / MKV / FLAC / OGG / APE, etc; Support video format: RM / RMVB / MP4 / AVI / IVX / Xvid / WMV / H.263 /MPEG-1 / MP2, etc. Please note: This is not a CD/DVD Player/GPS, it is not support GPS

Panasonic LUMIX DC-G9LEB-K G9 Mirrorless Camera with LEICA 12-60 mm Lens - Black 20 review

Panasonic LUMIX DC-G9LEB-K G9 Mirrorless Camera with LEICA 12-60 mm Lens - Black

World’s fastest camera*. never miss a shot with the LUMIX G9 Mirrorless camera. Take advantage of advanced tracking performance of this 4K video Mirrorless camera, shooting at fastest-in-class** 20fps with continuous AF for super-speedy subjects. The focus locks in just 0.04 seconds*** and tracks motion continuously, giving you the ability to capture even the most elusive wildlife shot Exceptional image quality. A 20.3 megapixel digital live MOS sensor combines with the latest Venus processing engine in this superior Mirrorless camera to bring you superb detail, as well as low noise, fantastic colours and brightness. A new high resolution mode delivers 80 megapixel (equivalent) images in both JPEG and raw, Ready for large print outs. The incredible detail and depth, which this Mirrorless camera delivers, is rendered by combining 8 images taken while shifting the sensor 4K video and 6K photo. This Mirrorless camera 4K video delivers incredible video resolution for breath- taking quality, making every detail Ever so flawless. 6K photo ensure you never miss the perfect moment with 30 photos per second at 18MP PANASONIC Leica DG VARIO-ELMARIT 12-60mm f/2.8-4.0. High quality versatile lens that provides beautiful bokeh. Designed to be dust and splash-proof as well as freeze-proof down to -10 Compact and light. This 4K video Mirrorless camera has been designed to give you the maximum freedom with its lightweight design and compact size. Much smaller and lighter than a DSLR, the G9 is ideal for travelling light while still capturing high-quality images. Lumix G lenses are much more compact than equivalent DSLR lenses, giving you the flexibility to shoot from a distance with a telephoto lens and still keep things crisp Compatible with the new “LUMIX Tether for Streaming (Beta)” software program for PC