Native Instruments Traktor Kontrol S4 MK2 DJ Controller

Native Instruments Traktor Kontrol S4 MK2 DJ Controller Customer Reviews

Product rating

5.0

    About this item

  • Industry-standard 4-deck controller, soundcard, flagship traktor software
  • Improved look, feel, and visual feedback
  • Plug and play with traktor dj for ipad and iphone

Native Instruments Traktor Reviews

I will add that the sound card isn't that great either, sound quality is
19 March 2018

Problem when using this controller in NO SYNC Mode not stable when you try to match tempo (I'm an old schooler dj so SYNC is not my thang).
I got this controller instead of a proper ( turntables and/or cdjs with a mixer set up for obvious reasons; space and portability). I contacted N.I. 3 times for supportI was able to get 1 reply via email and partially solve the problem.As they promised me to do a TeamViewer session rather then go back and forth via email because the matter in question is more complex and complicated a Tech-support personfrom Native Instrument suggested, and suppose to help via TeamViewer to see if it's a software problem or the actual hardware. Still waiting from N.I to get back to me. If this NO SYNC problem won't be solve I'll be forced to return this Traktor S4 and go to plan B. I will add that the sound card isn't that great either, sound quality is ...average... Pros: straight forward with mapping, can be used with iPad/iPhone (?) if you into dj with iPhone (lol)

Dawson
Traktor S4
8 December 2017

Any music enthusiast could get into using one of these.

I've come full circle with my music hobby. I started with the free version of FL studio on an office computer and ended up with this beast of a controller.

Unfortunately, I have had issues with it.
This is a USB controller. USB is a funny creature, it is not foolproof and this has been demonstrated on my Traktor S4.
My Traktor is having issues where scratching is sometimes freezing the controller. This could be a major problem during a performance and I would hate to be embarrassed. Luckily, the Native Instruments support team are pretty fantastic and I am hopeful that they will help me.

I will update my review if these issues continue.

Gregsta
Traktor kontrol S4 BRILLIANCE
22 October 2017

GREAT CONTROLLER FITS WELL INTO THE REST OF MY NATIVE INSTRUMENTS SETUP THE ABILITY TO COMBINE THE MASCHINE JAM AND THE S4 IS AMAZING

Guy Harwood
Perfect
17 September 2017

Brilliant bit of DJ kit, this is my second one now upgraded from S4 M1, perfectly integrated with the Trakor Pro 2 software, packed full of features works perfectly for mobile or club DJ's.

Dranadade
but otherwise is an very good 4deck mixer
28 December 2016

You have to take your time to setup this, but otherwise is an very good 4deck mixer. works well !

ali
Poor Sound Quality, but OK-ish for home/casual use
26 September 2016

I've had this device for just over a year now, and have just traded it in for a Pioneer XDJ-RX.

Here is why....

- phono pre-amps are weak, 1210s sound quiet even at full gain
- Traktor has to be open to let sound through from your turntables
- very Average Sound quality
- Jog wheels are small and feel toy-ish
- Traktor sometimes stops responding to the controller mid-set

There are however a few good points...

- Works with an iPad or iPhone running Traktor (so you dont always need a laptop)
- plenty of controls that map to traktor software
- stems support (although very basic compared to S8)

Donald
A great bit of kit does everything my 1210's use to
15 April 2016

A great bit of kit does everything my 1210's use to, what I learn't to mix on back in the 90. The kontrol s4 was very easy for me to get the hang of, I have found the jog wheel to be a bit temperamental at times, the software does not always copy what your exactly your doing on the s4 and can be a bit buggy, Am going to give this five stars, I bought this second hand from amazon warehouse, for the price and features this is a amazing bit of kit. Its a shame their is not a converter to convert your mp3 to stem, I think its going to take a while for this technology to take of so stems are widely available. I love the sync software. For the price you get what you pay for, the build quality is a bit poor but good for the price.I can beat mix, but that thought that the next generation of bedroom DJ's will never have to learn to beat mix. That is does not really matter. This is a great all rounder and far better fun than my 1210's and much cheaper.

Alex
Digital DJing has finally clicked.
22 December 2015

I have been djing for 22 years, started out using vinyl and was one of those boring purists who'd forever bleat on about how anything else just wasn't really dj-ing, my opinion boosted by a five minute shot on a pair of CDJs which were, quite frankly, crap compared to the beautiful, pristine pure experience of using vinyl, fast forward another 15 years or so and I was introduced to the world of digital dj-ing through the "joy" of Virtual DJ, I still wasn't convinced, the sync button bored me and it just did not feel like real dj-ing, but, I did appreciate the ease of the format, instead of paying £6 for a heavy slab of plastic with four tracks on, of which 50% of the time you only like one of the tracks, I could pick and choose single entries from each release, I liked that and decided to further explore, upgrading to Traktor and a cheapy controller just to see if it tuned me in further, it did, and I found myself ordering a slightly less cheap controller and fueling my now burgeoning digital addiction, but still, it wasn't a replacement for vinyl, something was missing, that connectivity that you get when cueing and scratching with vinyl, so I decided to try timecode vinyl and my research to me to Native Instrument's very own S4 Mk2 DJ Controller.

W.O.W!!!!! 2 months in and I still haven't even come close to setting myself up with the timecode vinyl yet, this controller(admittedly coupled with a Kontrol F1) is exactly what I have been looking for, I can now scratch again, whilst not as precise as vinyl, it isn't really far away and cutting and rubbing certainly sound just as good(ahem! or bad) as I used to. I have also learned to embrace the sync button, because not working so hard to keep those beats locked, means I can be so creative using the remix decks, FX, filters, 3/ 4 decks, the possibilities are endless. If you are going to use Traktor, please do not buy any other controller other than NI's own gear, as good as the other two controllers I have owned seemed to be at the time, my purchase of the S4 means that I have discovered that everything else just sullies your experience of Traktor. I wondered if I would regret giving up my Reloop and spending more on this controller, I did, for about a second, and my love for this machine just grows with every use.

I am now a fully converted Native Instruments fanboy

Dawson
Kontrol S4 mk2 + party party!!
2 December 2015

Fantastic product. Very happy with speed of delivery and quality of the controller. Exceeded my expectations. Now looking forward to trying it out live on 12th Dec!

Network.

*** ***
Fantastic Upgrade!
3 June 2015

Bought these as an upgrade from the S2 MK1 as I am starting to get into DJing a lot more. Very nice controller, great build quality, the new features are fantastic, looks a lot more professional and is at a reasonable price.

All I will say to those thinking of buying this controller who have never done any kind of DJing before is that it's not entry level. This is classed as a professional controller. If you want something that is just as good but more simple I'd go with the S2.

All in all, fantastic bit of kit. Delivery was very fast and packaging was very secure.

Alex

Similar items you might like

DYNASONIC - (3rd Gen) Portable Bluetooth Speaker with Karaoke Mode and Microphone, FM Radio and USB SD Reader (Model 12) 38 review

DYNASONIC - (3rd Gen) Portable Bluetooth Speaker with Karaoke Mode and Microphone, FM Radio and USB SD Reader (Model 12)

Thanks to its Bluetooth technology and rechargeable internal battery, you can use this speaker completely wirelessly. The product has a USB and SD card reader, we can insert a USB key or SD card and it will automatically play the MP3 formats it finds. It also has an integrated FM radio mode, which allows you to tune in and listen to your favorite stations. Thanks to its two microphone inputs, you can sing while playing your favorite music in Karaoke mode. In addition, the product includes 2 DYNASONIC microphones. Our speaker is lightweight and has elegant colours and designs that give it a beauty worthy of its quality. You can use it with multimedia devices, as a portable speaker, or even home cinema if you connect it to your TV. The product includes various accessories to use in their multifunction devices: A wired microphone for karaoke mode, with a cable to connect. A user manual with all the instructions to use the product correctly and with all the necessary information. A USB cable to charge the speaker and a battery-powered remote control for easy and convenient remote use of the speaker. Its measurements make it completely portable, you can take it comfortably anywhere and use it in various situations in which you want to listen to your favorite music. Use it outdoors, at parties with friends or at home for personal use. You can also carry it easily thanks to its handle on the back.

Wireless Earbuds, GCBIG Bluetooth 5.3 Headphones in Ear, 25H Playtime Wireless Earphones with 4 Mics, IP7 Waterproof Bluetooth Earbuds with Hi-Fi Stereo Sound, ENC Clear Call, Touch Control, USB-C 333 review

Wireless Earbuds, GCBIG Bluetooth 5.3 Headphones in Ear, 25H Playtime Wireless Earphones with 4 Mics, IP7 Waterproof Bluetooth Earbuds with Hi-Fi Stereo Sound, ENC Clear Call, Touch Control, USB-C

4 Mics with Environmental Noise Cancellation Technology: ENC Wireless Earbuds can effectively block out amount of background noise and make your voice more clearer. The other side can clearly hear your voice in the noisy environment like a subway station. 25 Hours Playtime: The Bluetooth Earbuds alone provide up to 5 hours of high-quality sound output on a single charge and the included charging case provides an additional 4 charges, giving 25 hours of a total playtime. Immersive Sound and Lightweight: Wireless Headphones adopts unique stereo design and 13MM big composite diaphragms to produce powerful sound. The single one is only 4g, charging case and 2 earbuds are 53g totally. IP7 Waterproof and Touch Control: Bluetooth Earphones boast IP7 rated protection that resist daily splashes of water, sweat, rain which is perfect for fitness and travel. The Wireless Earphones in Ear adopt touch control mode, which is more convenient and concise. Bluetooth 5.3 and One-Step Pairing: Wireless Headphones with Mic have Bluetooth 5.3 chip will automatically connect to the last paired device when take the Wireless Earbuds out of the charging case. Bluetooth 5.3 provides a stable transmission without interruption.

Bose 739617-2320 SoundLink Revolve Plus Bluetooth Speaker - Lux Grey, 18.39 cm*10.5 cm*10.5 cm 90 review

Bose 739617-2320 SoundLink Revolve Plus Bluetooth Speaker - Lux Grey, 18.39 cm*10.5 cm*10.5 cm

The best-performing portable speaker from Bose; delivers deep, loud, jaw-dropping sound with true 360-degree coverage Built-in mic for speakerphone to take clear conference or personal calls out loud with a wireless range of approximately 9 m Flexible fabric handle makes it easy to grab and go; seamless aluminium body is durable and water resistant (IPX4) Enjoy up to 16 hours of play time from a long-lasting, rechargeable, lithium-ion battery. Factory reset clears paired mobile devices and language settings from your speaker and returns it to the original factory setting Wireless Bluetooth pairing with voice prompts; easily take calls and access Siri or Google Now Pair two speakers together for Stereo or Party Mode playback. The speakers have a wireless range up to 30 ft (9 m). Performance can be affected by obstacles such as walls, interference from Wi-Fi or other wireless devices

Powerbeats Pro Wireless Earphones - Apple H1 Headphone Chip, Class 1 Bluetooth, 9 Hours Of Listening Time, Sweat Resistant Earbuds, Built-in Microphone - Moss 91 review

Powerbeats Pro Wireless Earphones - Apple H1 Headphone Chip, Class 1 Bluetooth, 9 Hours Of Listening Time, Sweat Resistant Earbuds, Built-in Microphone - Moss

Totally wireless high-performance earphones Up to 9 hours of listening time (more than 24 hours with charging case) Adjustable, secure-fit ear hooks for lightweight comfort and stability Reinforced design for sweat & water resistance during tough workouts or running Volume & track controls on each earbud, microphones with voice capability, and auto play/pause Features the Apple H1 Headphone Chip and Class 1 Bluetooth for extended range and fewer dropouts Compatible with iOS and Android

OneOdio Hi-Res Over Ear Headphone Wired Closed-Back DJ Studio Headphones for Monitoring and Mixing, Soft Protein Leather Earcups, Noise Isolation, 90° Rotatable Housing, Portable (Upgraded Version) 50 review

OneOdio Hi-Res Over Ear Headphone Wired Closed-Back DJ Studio Headphones for Monitoring and Mixing, Soft Protein Leather Earcups, Noise Isolation, 90° Rotatable Housing, Portable (Upgraded Version)

【Hi-res Audio Certified】Hear every detail Japanese made voice Coil and driver diaphragm delivers professional-quality sound to satisfy, even the most demanding audio connoisseur, high-performing with 50mm driver units and noise isolation, Immerse yourself in highly accurate mid- to high tones that are true to the original recording While never losing composure-even at high volume 【Detachable 3.5mm/6.35mm Cable, No more Adapter】Come with a detachable standard-sized 6.35mm plug and a 3.5mm plug are included. DJ style coiled cord (9.8ft Stretched) easily reaches from the TV or stereo to your favorite chair. Another Cable with line-in mic, call and communicate on-line at any time 【Maximum comfort & Superior noise isolation, 】The memory-protein earmuffs is made in Germany which designed to disperse pressure and heat build-up combined with the soft leather headband to gives you maximum comfort & superior isolation. The headband Filled with memory-protein cotton can be stretched to the size you want 【Single-sided monitoring & foldable design】OneOdio Studio Pro features reversible Housing and a rugged adjustable headband for free-style and single-side monitoring The ear cups swivel to lay flat and also flip upward to fit neatly in your bag or laptop case Works with iPad iPod iPhone Android and many other Audio devices High-quality sound supreme durability and maximum comfort These are the headphones you've been looking for

Shure AONIC 50 Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones, Premium Studio-Quality Sound, Bluetooth 5 Wireless Technology, Comfort Fit Over Ear, 20 Hours Battery Life, Fingertip Controls - Black 88 review

Shure AONIC 50 Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones, Premium Studio-Quality Sound, Bluetooth 5 Wireless Technology, Comfort Fit Over Ear, 20 Hours Battery Life, Fingertip Controls - Black

PREMIUM WIRELESS STUDIO-QUALITY SOUND - Engineered from decades of professional experience No cords No wires Just pure listening anywhere you go ADJUSTABLE NOISE CANCELLING & ENVIRONMENT MODE - Eliminate distractions for a truly immersive listening experience and hear the outside world with the flip of a switch BLUETOOTH 5 WIRELESS TECHNOLOGY - Enhanced stability and a range of up to 30 feet (10 meters) Pairs to phones tablets and laptops UP TO 20 HOURS BATTERY LIFE - Uninterrupted audio wherever you go – on the train on an airplane at work or at home LONG-WEARING COMFORT & DURABILITY - Built to withstand the rigors of the road  Folds flat for portability with protective carrying case FINGERTIP CONTROLS - Quick access to answer calls, activate voice assistant, adjust volume, or pause your music with the push of a button. PREMIUM HEADPHONE AMPLIFIER - Supports multiple codecs including Qualcomm aptX, aptX HD, aptX Low Latency audio, Sony LDAC, AAC, and SBC.