2015

2015 Customer Reviews

Product rating

3.0

    About this item

2015 Reviews

Stand Up With A Little Extra
21 June 2022

Some of the reviews of this seem spectacularly harsh. How they expect the backstage bit to have hidden cameras or suggest that it's some massive con is weird. Unsurprisingly the performers are aware that the cameras are on and so they're never really fully unguarded. And it's definitely quite heavily edited but I suspect that's a good thing. The majority of the backstage goings on are probably not that entertaining.

Personally I liked seeing the interactions. Even if it's a bit performative it's a different sort of thing with a different audience and it's interesting to watch them with each other. I think that all adds something. Give me this over Live At The Apollo any day (which I like, I just find this is more interesting with the extra full-show element). I thought the mix of comedians on show was good - some old timers, some well known, some less so. Stand up that is as at least as good as (largely better than) anything that you'll normally see on the television. I'd definitely watch another series.

Toe Jam
hilarious
20 June 2022

really funny, laugh out loud, comedy. I really enjoyed this raw edgy stand up.
Definitely not for everyone, but so refreshing to see some real humour that isn't homogenised for the public for a change. the backstage stuff is often funnier than the show. Hope there will be more of this series, if you're not "offended" by real observational humour, this is for you!

Social Scholar
Backstage Can Be A Lot Of Fun...
19 June 2022

Question:
"what's it like for a Comedian to prepare for a gig with other Comedians?"

That is the simple yet intimate nature/setup of "Backstage" & I have to say...

I love it.

Its actually fascinatingly entertaining to see the likes of Tom Allen pacing the corridors of the famous "Roundhouse" in Camden to get himself pumped for his set or Judy Love speak openly in the shared dressing room about her nerves when doing stand-up OR even better yet, Bake-Off Legend Sue Perkins just being alone with her thoughts as she processes her first ever comedy gig in *14-Years* (Side Note - she smashed it out of the park & then some)!

Katherine Ryan is definitely onto something with this show, Amazon, renew it for a 2nd Season of 10 Episodes already would ya?

I'm not asking for much ????????????????????????...

M. Webster
Good range of comedians
15 June 2022

Mostly good, interesting to see how different comedians deal with nerves etc. Found the Sara and Katherine chat re: dealing with disclosures really interesting, more of that side of things would have been great as that felt, very very real. Agree with others that it mostly didn't feel properly backstage but given the people are comedians, and there were cameras I don't really know how else it could have gone.

Dan M
Loved it!
15 June 2022

So much fun. It felt a little odd only getting shortish segments of everyone's sets but overall, a great feel-good show of some very hard-working and talented people. I have a lot more I can say about it but I'll leave it there.

Lydia theTattooed Lady!
Why? And just NO
14 June 2022

Why?
Who walked into a room and said this was a good idea?
It's painful. Painfully scripted.Painfully pandering to comediands that over work the same old, same old.And comedians that have had their day but just won't go away.
This could have been achieved in YouTube shorts for a fraction of the cost.
Amazon I expect this from Netflix that's why I cancelled my subscription.
Honestly its F in rubbish.

Mrs O.
Brilliant
13 June 2022

Surprised by the bad reviews. Me and my family really enjoyed this show. Every episode was hilarious and great to watch. Whether the behind the scenes parts are fake or real doesn't bother me at all. The only issue I have is that the sound is a bit tinny in the bts parts for some reason. But apart from that I have no problems at all. I'd recommend this and I hope there will be more. ????

simon
Very poor.
13 June 2022

I'm sorry but i don't find Katherine Ryan Funny.

When you stand her alongside Sindhu Vee, or Zoe Lyons, both of which have not just humour but warmth in abundance, there's just no comparison.

maybe it's because she's had so much facial botox that her only expression is that of a blow-up doll, or perhaps she's just not funny.

siobhan linehan
Interesting concept
12 June 2022

having watched the whole series I enjoyed the mix of backstage and on stage and it was good to see how the comediansinteractedwith each other and made for interesting watching. Yes at times some elements do feel scripted but i guess you do need some structure when filming to ensure you have something to work with in the edit. others have commented on lots of cuts but again i guess a lot of backstage is waiting around and not that interesting.Overall worth a watch if you want something more than just another stand up.

kevin fraser
Whether it is or not it screams 'fake'
11 June 2022

I struggle to perceive this as anything other than scripted and/or heavily edited. Based on the first few minutes of watching it comes across as artificial and strange. I couldn't continue. A big opportunity lost because the people in it would make for interesting watching behind the scenes if it was genuine. As it is, I found it so awkwardly staged that I opted out early on.

simon

Similar items you might like

Philips 345B1C - 34 inch Curved WQHD Monitor, 100Hz, 4ms, VA, Speakers, Height Adjust, Power Sensor, USB Hub (3440 x 1440 WQHD, 300 cd/m², HDMI/DP/USB-B/USB 3.2) 16 review

Philips 345B1C - 34 inch Curved WQHD Monitor, 100Hz, 4ms, VA, Speakers, Height Adjust, Power Sensor, USB Hub (3440 x 1440 WQHD, 300 cd/m², HDMI/DP/USB-B/USB 3.2)

These Philips screens deliver Crystal Clear, UltraWide Quad HD 3440 x 1440 pixel images. Utilising high-performance panels with high-density pixel count and 178/178 wide viewing angles, these new displays will make your images and graphics come alive. The UltraWide 21:9 format enables more productivity with more room for side-by-side comparisons and more viewable spreadsheet columns. Whether you are a demanding professional requiring extremely detailed information for CAD-CAM solutions or a financial wizard working on huge spreadsheets, Philips displays deliver Crystal Clear images. Gaming shouldn't be a choice between choppy gameplay or broken frames. Get fluid, artefact-free performance at virtually any frame rate with Adaptive-Sync technology, smooth quick refresh and ultra-fast response time. An HDMI-ready device has all the required hardware to accept High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) input. An HDMI cable enables high-quality digital video and audio to be transmitted over a single cable from a PC or any number of AV sources (including set-top boxes, DVD players, A/V receivers and video cameras). Due to the way brightness is controlled on LED-backlit screens, some users experience flicker on their screen which causes eye fatigue. Philips Flicker-Free technology applies a new solution to regulate brightness and reduce flicker for more comfortable viewing. Studies have shown that just as ultra-violet rays can cause eye damage, shortwave-length blue light rays from LED displays can cause eye damage and affect vision over time. Developed for wellbeing, the Philips LowBlue Mode setting uses a smart software technology to reduce harmful shortwave blue light.

LG Monitor 27BL650C 27 inch - Full HD, IPS Monitor, 60 Hz, 5 ms, 1920x1080 px, Ergonomic Design 64 review

LG Monitor 27BL650C 27 inch - Full HD, IPS Monitor, 60 Hz, 5 ms, 1920x1080 px, Ergonomic Design

27 inch 16:9 Full HD IPS Display Monitor delivering a clearer and consistent true color with wide viewing angle 178º Colour Calibrated screen to enable you to view Actual Colour USB Type-C high-performance connection 3-side Borderless Design offers Seamless Viewing Experience making ideal for productive and efficient workstation Flicker Safe reduces onscreen flicker level hence visual fatigue Reader Mode reduces blue light to help lessen eye fatigue and improve visual Comfort Ergonomics design provides Two-way Pivot, Adjustable Stand, Swivel, One Click Stand adjustments

BenQ EW2480 24-Inch 1080p Eye-Care IPS LED Monitor, HDRi, HDMI, Speakers, Black 45 review

BenQ EW2480 24-Inch 1080p Eye-Care IPS LED Monitor, HDRi, HDMI, Speakers, Black

HDRi: Intelligent clarity adjustment and brightness control plus emulated HDR make every image stunning and clear Built-in speakers: True tone from 2.5 W speakers with mid-range to high end sounds to elevate your audio-visual experience bezel-less design: Minimise distractions and create virtually seamless multi-panel configurations Multi-connectivity: Three HDMI ports offer convenience to switch between media devices with ease Eye-care technology: Offers long-awaited comfort to your eyes with low blue light, flicker-free and ePaper and eye reminder features

Lenovo G32qc-10 31.5 Inch QHD Curved Monitor (VA Panel, 144 Hz, 4 ms, HMDI, DP) Tilt & Height Adjusting Screen, Black 96 review

Lenovo G32qc-10 31.5 Inch QHD Curved Monitor (VA Panel, 144 Hz, 4 ms, HMDI, DP) Tilt & Height Adjusting Screen, Black

Immersive entertainment: Ideal for gaming the curved G32qc Quad-HD monitor (2560 x 1440) display offers exceptional image quality Excellent viewing comfort: Near-Edgeless 3.5mm bezels house a VA panel that can be height adjusted and tilted up to 178 degrees for enhanced, vivid content from every angle Smoother gaming: Experience fast and fluid gameplay with a high 144Hz refresh rate, rapid 4ms response time, and AMD Radeon FreeSync technology Quick setup: The 31.5-inch monitor offers HDMI and DP inputs, 26 user presets and VESA mount capability so as you can spend less time setting up your perfect viewing preferences Protect your vision: Designed with your eyes in mind, flicker-free TUV Rheinland low blue light filtering reduces eye strain without affecting colour accuracy

Lenovo C470 21.5-inch All-in-One Desktop (White) - (Intel Core i3-4010U 1.70 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 1TB HDD, Integrated Graphics, DVDRW, Camera, Wi-Fi, Windows 8.1) 44 review

Lenovo C470 21.5-inch All-in-One Desktop (White) - (Intel Core i3-4010U 1.70 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 1TB HDD, Integrated Graphics, DVDRW, Camera, Wi-Fi, Windows 8.1)

Performance and functionality Easy expandability - Sliding back cover to add memory and storage Immersive audio - Dolby audio certified speakers for an outstanding sound experience AccuType keyboard with individual rounded keys for comfortable and accurate typing

Alienware AW2521HFA 24.5 Inch Full HD (1920x1080) Gaming Monitor, 240Hz, IPS, 1ms, AMD FreeSync Premium, NVIDIA G-SYNC Compatible, DisplayPort, 2x HDMI, 5x USB 3.0, 3 Year Warranty 59 review

Alienware AW2521HFA 24.5 Inch Full HD (1920x1080) Gaming Monitor, 240Hz, IPS, 1ms, AMD FreeSync Premium, NVIDIA G-SYNC Compatible, DisplayPort, 2x HDMI, 5x USB 3.0, 3 Year Warranty

FURIOUSLY FAST - See faster with 240 refreshes per second for smooth-as-life gameplay AN ADVANTAGE FROM EVERY ANGLE - New fast IPS technology allows for a true 1ms response time THE BEST OF EVERY WORLD - See all the details with 25" screen and native 1080p resolution DISTORTION-FREE - AMD FreeSync technology synchronizes the graphics and monitor LEGEND INDUSTRIAL DESIGN - The new design is bolder sculpted universal and minimal