GoPro Hero 3 Camcorder - White Edition (discontinued by manufacturer)

GoPro Hero 3 Camcorder - White Edition (discontinued by manufacturer) Customer Reviews

Product rating

3.7

    About this item

GoPro Hero 3 Reviews

Used for Flying - Good quality, terrible battery, has frozen on me
12 November 2018

Keeping in mind I purchased a second-hand GoPro 3. The packaging was fine, came with a new battery (not genuine I don't think) and a few attachments. Usually, I purchase the ApeMan series of cameras. Far cheaper at £30 each and excellent quality. However, I also record cockpit radio chatter. Having been using direct to dictaphone for several years it was becoming a complete pain to align the sound and video in editing. I knew there were several series of GoPro that allows you to record radio via an adapter straight to the camera. So I purchased a second hand one to give it a bash.

Pros
+ Fantastic quality video, even with dark cockpit lighting and very bright outside lighting.
+ Not too complicated to operate.
+ Sound works excellent with a non-genuine adapter cable (solved my problem).
+ Small and light.

Cons
- It froze the first time I used it which was ... awkward. Not what I expected of this make.
- Battery life is terrible compared to ApeMan. Lasted just under 60 minutes, whereas ApeMan has lasted me over 150 mins in the past at the same quality settings.
- Attachments can be a pain - they don't fit the same as the ApeMan ones.
- Has a lot of features I don't need!

IOM Fishing
Go Pro, Buy a GoPro.
4 July 2016

I bought the Go Pro Hero 3 Black Edition 3 years ago. I've always loved the design and it's brilliant for someone like me who does a lot of outdoor activities (swimming, skiing etc) with moments you never want to forget.

You need to consider what you actually will use the camera for, how often and what you'll do with the videos after as to what camera will suit you. The reviews were brilliant and I have not been disappointed, it records perfect quality and I have not had a single issue in three years. I'd recommend this camera, plus, you can just keep buying add-on extras each birthday/Christmas as a little present to yourself.

The quality is perfect, at 4Kp fps, 2.7 kp 30 fps, 1440p48/ 1080p60/ 720p120 fps it's brilliant. It's realistically future proof for the long term, for the photos the 12mp 30FPS burst is brilliant to ensure you get the picture you want.... especially when doing something crazy!

The wifi and wifi remote (built in on the black edition) are brilliant and have never let me down. The battery is amazing, for something recording in 4k to last 1.5-2 hours is insane.

If this ever breaks, which I doubt it will, I'd definitely buy from GoPro again.

Laurie Marriott
Great little action camera
17 February 2015

Best little sports camera I've had. The casing means I can use it underwater for my scuba diving and its protected from knocks and bumps when skiing and cycling. So many accessories too which means whatever sport you're doing there will be a connector for you.Many recording options too, I mainly use the video mode so that once I've hit record that's it. I have found the photo every so many seconds is very handy. Pretty easy to use as there are only 3 buttons. One to turn the wifi on and off, one to scroll through the menu and one to select of take pictures/record.

Another great feature of this camera is that you can download the gopro app for free and use your phone as a controller. This can be useful if you are on your own and you need to check the angle of the camera on your head or regularly press stop and record.Pretty good battery life but would recommend getting some spare batteries if you intend on filming all day long. Batteries don't last as long in cold weather but I have still managed 5 hours straight video while skiing. Only downside I can really see is the lack of screen, so you can't know if the camera is in the right place for the shot you want. On the plus the GoPro app can act as this and the wide camera angle means you are probably covered. And if you have the money a screen back can be purchased. Finally the wide camera angle means the camera can be quite close yet still get your whole body in the shot. Can be used for photos, timed photos, lapse shots, video and can be wifi controlled. I have been using mine quite often for a couple of years now. Still very happy and am not looking at upgrading as this camera has all my needs covered.

Martin Beecroft
this might not be your best choice. I really enjoyed it and it was ...
18 September 2014

Bought it for snorkeling/diving in the Philippines. Works amazingly! Image quality is simply stunning for such a small camera. Both pics and videos have incredible quality, although have in mind that being a gopro the lens is very fish eye-like thus if you want to use it for another purpose than the fish eye effect, this might not be your best choice.

I really enjoyed it and it was really useful in the Philippines. The only thing i was slightly annoyed was that when i dived down to 24m with the gopro, i did not know i'd need a filter in order for the colours to be kept as the original colours being seen. So, when i looked at my videos, all of them came with a dull blue :/ but that was me not knowing :) so for diving, definitely advise to buy a red filter!

Troy
Get one
1 September 2014

I bought this for an upcoming trip to Botswana, I have had it three days now and all I keep saying is "wow"

Its unbelievebley compact, sturdy and powerful. The battery sucks, but it can be charged while in use although not while in its plastic shell. You MUST buy a decent micro SD card - the recommended cards are about 25quid for a 32GB card - or you wont be able to record at high resolutions, the one I tried first was a stock samsung card which said it was class ten but clearly not up to the job.

All the little bits. remote and clamps/pivots/sticky bases are all exceptional build quality, so when I read one of these things was dropped from 12500ft and was still recording when they found it, I wasnt surprised.

Frank from NL
Once I was blind, but now I can see. - in HD!
12 August 2014

I love this little thing.
So happy that I got it at a reasonable (Never say cheap) price. About £40 quid less than other stores.
Happy with the footage. As other people pointed out the microphone is a little odd. It doesn't pic up voices that well, but yet sounds like the surf, a bike on track etc, it picks up perfectly. So far have taken the little beauty Surfing / Golfing / Mountainbiking. All great.
I didnt particularly care about the photo function / how many megapixels it had compared to the silver, as I have HD footage and a pause button. I can easily take a still of whatever I like.

Footage is just great. Cant believe I waited this long to buy one, messing around with hand held cams (whilst Snowboarding) etc for years and years.
Just got to work on my actual skill level, to make my footage captured, look anywhere near how the pros does. (Makes you appreciate how good they really are!)

Super happy.

mark poole
Getting quirky shots I wouldn't have before!
29 July 2014

I have been using this little camera for a while now and I am becoming more and more impressed with the things I can do with it! I don't use it is a B camera or as my main camera but as something to get those quirky shots that really give a video a little bit of life. I have chucked it in the canal and thrown it off of bridges and got some weird shots that my DSLR would never get!

It is well built and the water proof casing has not yet broken meaning my camera is still all good!

The one downside is that you may need a little bit of video editing and colour grading knowledge in order to get as good a picture as you see in the GoPro adverts. As their videos have been graded and processed to look the way that they do. Maybe just a little bit or testing before official use can get you on the right track to getting good looking footage. I am sure there are YouTube tutorials one can watch to get ahead of all of this!

T Mill
Awful battery Life
17 June 2014

Its two stars for the camera its faultless.

BUT the battery life is appalling, about an hour on 1080 30fps. If its cold, its less. The wifi button is in the wrong place its too easy to accidentally turn on - if you do you battery will be empty in about twenty mins. You'll always need to carry spare batteries and / or a charger. If your battery is low and goes off while you are riding it may not save the files! The mounts are not great, they move forward and back too easily, you cant tighten it too tight either for fear of snapping the plastic.

Whatever you do steer clear of the handlebar mount i have already had one sheer off, lucky the camera was ok. So use the Roll bar mount instead. Or by the K - edge on instead. I have to say the GoPro customer service is excellent if you have problems.

I wouldn't recommend this camera for cycling/motorcycling. if your making movies and have a laptop available to re charge go for it. Ohh remember the price of memory cards, if you want to film in 4K your going to get 20 mins on 64g your looking at 80 to 100 for the card GoPro recommend.

Ive used this camera every day for about 4 months so above is from experience.

Pakkala
Nice gadget, but with some drawbacks
26 April 2014

It is a nice gadget which comes with many accesoires. I used it to film my daughter. Because of the head strap I couldmfollow her easily.

Also I tried it on a bike trip of 1,5 hours. The cam stopped after app. 40 minutes due to an empty battery. This is too fast if you want to record any interesting trip.

I found out the battery lasts longer if you switch off wifi.

Also I found the unboxing and setting up not very intuitive.

It works well and gives great quality footage.

Conclusion: fine gadget, but not as good as expected.

josh lumley
Love the Go Pro
24 March 2014

I bought the Go Pro Hero 3 Silver Edition for my boyfriend for Christmas. He's always liked the look of them but never used one. He has a DSLR camera and is good with cameras.

I did a lot of research into these and did comparisons with other similar makes of camera. You need to consider what you actually will use the camera for, how often and what you'll do with the videos after as to what camera will suit you. Go Pros seem to come out best in reviews so I went for a Go Pro. As for whether I was going to choose white, silver or black I weighed up what he'd use it for etc. He's into bikes and cycling, airsoft and cars so I wanted a decent one as it'll have a fair amount of use but didn't need everything the black had to offer (you can get the screen attachment/remote and any extras if you feel you want them, rather than getting the Hero 3 Black and paying more for these things).

Needless to say he was thrilled with this present and has since used it a couple of times, testing it out in different situations. We took it to a gig and we were both stunned by its sound recording quality. In the dark and with the bright lights it wasn't up to its usual standard but that's to be expected. In daylight the quality was excellent. The camera itself is easy to use and the phone app is handy and a great extra. Works perfectly well as a remote and as a way of viewing what the camera is seeing. I'd recommend this camera, plus, it's like a Pandora bracelet! You can just keep buying add-on extras each birthday/Christmas - Perfect!

Norfolk Lady

Similar items you might like

ZOSI Ultra HD 4K Outdoor Security Camera System, 8 Channel H.265+ CCTV DVR Recorder with 4 x 4K 8MP Dome Camera Kit Weatherproof, 150ft Night Vision, 2TB Hard Drive, Remote Access 40 review

ZOSI Ultra HD 4K Outdoor Security Camera System, 8 Channel H.265+ CCTV DVR Recorder with 4 x 4K 8MP Dome Camera Kit Weatherproof, 150ft Night Vision, 2TB Hard Drive, Remote Access

【4K 8. 0MP Ultra High Definition】FOUR TIMES the resolution of 1080P. This Ultra HD 4K CMOS image sensor allows the camera to capture more light, which improves color, contrast, and low-light performance. In Ultra HD 4K resolution. Record everything with sharper details with the high pixel count (3840 x 2160) and be able to digitally zoom into far away objects without losing any quality. 【Advanced H.265+ High Efficiency Video Compression】ZOSI self-developed H.265+ video coding technology, stands at the cutting edge of security industry, is specially developed for the characteristics of the surveillance scene. H.265+ can further improve compression ratio on the based on H.265 standard and save 80% storage space compared with H.264. Save network and storage resources effectively. 【Remote Access & Motion Detection】 View and manage your security system via free iOS & Android APP (ZOSI Smart) or PC Client. You can also customize motion detection area in each camera to minimize false alerts. Instant notifications and email alerts will be pushed to your phone directly as long as the cameras detect moving objects. 【Customize Each Camera with Different Record Modes】 Our ZOSI DVR offers 4 kinds recording modes to meet your needs: Record footage continuously; Record during scheduled times; Only record when detect motion; Recycle record. You can customize each camera with different recording modes, and download the recording files for the USB backup. 【4-in-1 HD DVR + IP66 Weatherproof Camera】Exclusive Hybrid Capability 4-in-1 8 Channel Ultra 4K High Definition DVR (2TB HDD preinstalled). With 4pcs 8MP IP66 weatherproof smart cameras that can withstand temperatures from -4°F to 122°F. Best choice for your outdoor home security.

Victiv 72-inch Camera Tripod Aluminum Monopod T72 Max. Height 182 cm - Lightweight and Compact for Travel with 3-way Swivel Head and 2 Quick Release Plates for DSLR Video Shooting - Black 76 review

Victiv 72-inch Camera Tripod Aluminum Monopod T72 Max. Height 182 cm - Lightweight and Compact for Travel with 3-way Swivel Head and 2 Quick Release Plates for DSLR Video Shooting - Black

☆LIGHTWEIGHT FOR TRAVEL – Compactness when stored and weighs only 3.3 pounds/1.5 KG, easy to move around with a strapped carrying bag; Flip leg lock for SUPER FAST SETUP. Great for live streaming from vlogger and YouTuber ☆UPGRADED SOLID CONSTRUCTION – Made of aluminum alloy, THICKER leg tube than the ordinary tripod, sturdy adequate for long exposure work and keep the camera steady. Using it in the field and yard for photos ☆TRIPOD AND MONOPOD COMBINED UNIT – Takes about 5 seconds to go from the tripod into the monopod and reduces the weight of travel. Pay one, get two functions. Perfect for amateur photographers and travelers ☆VERSATILITY OF FUNCTIONALIT – Height from 21.6''-72'' can use it with binoculars for star viewing, family and home movies; 4-section column legs are able to stretch out to be tall enough to find the right height ☆SMOOTH 3-WAY SWIVEL HEAD - 360 degree panning and titling with horizontally and vertically, easy to change directions at different angles. A EXTRA UNIVERSAL ARCA SWISS MOUNTING PLATE AS A GIFT to easily swap cameras and mobile phones, wireless remote control can help you take pictures remotely

Apple Watch Series 7 (GPS, 41mm) - Midnight Aluminium Case with Midnight Sport Band - Regular 50 review

Apple Watch Series 7 (GPS, 41mm) - Midnight Aluminium Case with Midnight Sport Band - Regular

GPS model lets you take calls and reply to texts from your wrist Always-on Retina display has nearly 20% more screen area than Series 6, making everything easier to see and use The most crack-resistant front crystal yet on an Apple Watch, IP6X dust resistance, and swimproof design Measure your blood oxygen with a powerful sensor and app Take an ECG anytime, anywhere Get high and low heart rate, and irregular heart rhythm notifications Track new tai chi and pilates workouts, in addition to favorites like running, yoga, swimming, and dance

Logitech MX Master 3 Advanced Wireless Mouse, Bluetooth + 2.4GHz USB, Ultrafast Scrolling, 4000 DPI Any Surface Tracking, Ergonomic, 7 Button, Rechargeable, PC/Mac/iPadOS - Black 34 review

Logitech MX Master 3 Advanced Wireless Mouse, Bluetooth + 2.4GHz USB, Ultrafast Scrolling, 4000 DPI Any Surface Tracking, Ergonomic, 7 Button, Rechargeable, PC/Mac/iPadOS - Black

Ultrafast Magspeed Scrolling: Experience the remarkable speed, precision, and near-silence of magnetic scrolling with the reinvented MagSpeed Wheel which shifts between ratchet and hyper-fast modes Hand-sculpted for Comfort: Perfectly crafted with an ergonomic design for the shape of your palm, so you can work for long hours with a comfortable, natural hand and wrist position Countless Customisability Options: Customisable for virtually every app you use with predefined app-specific profiles(3). Change the thumb controls to optimise every action for your specific workflow Cross-Computer Control: Work seamlessly on three computers. Transfer cursor, text and files between Windows, macOS or Linux, on PC, Mac or laptop. Professional software meets comfortable precision Works on Any Surface: Hit the right pixel every time with a best-in-class Darkfield 4000 DPI laser sensor. Track with ultimate precision – even on glass or shiny white/black surfaces Wired USB-C Recharging: The MX Master 3 mouse stays powered for up to 70 days on a full charge(6) – and gets three hours of use from a one-minute quick charge using the included charging cable Multi-Device and Multi-OS: Connect cordlessly to up to 3 Windows, Mac or Linux devices via Bluetooth or the included USB mini-receiver. Compatible with Windows 8, Windows 10 or later, macOS 10.13 or later, Linux and iPadOS 13.1 or later* via Bluetooth *On the iPad, pointing, clicking, and scrolling will be supported by enabling the “Assistive Touch” accessibility feature

Digital Camera/ 8x Digital Zoom/ 12 MP/ 1080P FHD/ 2.8” TFT LCD Screen GDC80X2 Simple Camera for Kids/Children/Teenagers/Beginners/The Elderly (Black) 37 review

Digital Camera/ 8x Digital Zoom/ 12 MP/ 1080P FHD/ 2.8” TFT LCD Screen GDC80X2 Simple Camera for Kids/Children/Teenagers/Beginners/The Elderly (Black)

2.8" large LCD screen, 12mp photos and 1080p FHD videos, built-in flash. Lightweight design & small size make it is very convenient to carry the camera around. Perfect to be a gift for the children, teenagers, beginners, the elderly. For amateurs, not for professional users. Rechargeable Li-Ion battery could be used for about 1.5 hours per charge. Camera can be installed with up to 32GB external SD/SDHC card(not included).

Canon GP 501 - Glossy photo paper - A4 (210 x 297 mm) - 170 g/m2 - 100 sheet(s) 109 review

Canon GP 501 - Glossy photo paper - A4 (210 x 297 mm) - 170 g/m2 - 100 sheet(s)

Everyday photo printing delivered in stunning quality Includes 100 sheets